Honesty is the Best Policy


Now, I tend to be a brutally honest person [hence the subtitle of the blog]. Although it may be cliche to adhere to such a policy, I feel the world would be better off if more subscribed to it. Not only would you not have to worry if people were shooting you straight, but it’d make life a lot less stressful. Think back to all the times you’ve had an elephant in the room with you. Not only is that elephant 24,000 lbs, but it creates an immense amount of stink. Having to share a small room with something like that is a true pain and yet, people still live with that burden.

I, by no means, am not a saint, but I try to be as honest as I possibly can. I’ve run into trouble and don’t want to have to deal with that ever again. As a result of that experience, I’ve become a much better person. I tell the truth, and I expect the truth. Despite my opinion on the subject, I know others are not as forthright as I am, thus I’m not naive enough to believe everything I’m told. Regardless, it’s how I have decided to live my life and I feel it’s working out for me.

I understand business does not follow this mantra. There is a lot of looking the other way, tweaking the truth, and little white lies. I have yet to truly encounter these aspects of business, as a result of my being in only entry level jobs, but I am expecting it in the future. I know there are plenty of ethically sound companies who truly put forth the effort to be honest; however, just like the squeaky wheel gets the oil, the companies who lack integrity get the attention. It is disappointing to me that this is how life is.

Regardless of how it is, how society is structured, I don’t plan on bending. It may hold me back because I’m unwilling to compromise my character, but I feel the right company will see that as a positive attribute they want their people to have. I’ll wind up succeeding in an organization espousing comparable values, contributing in a meaningful way to achieve our goals.

If the writing is honest it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it.

— Tennessee Williams

-J

3 responses to “Honesty is the Best Policy

  • Papa Bear

    Very tricky post here. The country (United States) is losing its moral fiber; therefore, I believe honesty and values will become even less commonplace in the future. Your generation, in many cases, has kids that have never step foot in a church or understand any elements of The Bible. They don’t know anything about Jesus, the 12 Disciples, Beatitudes, etc.

    The founding fathers developed a Declaration of Independence and currency around a Creator/God. Back then, they understood the importance of God in their lives and daily struggles.

    In less than 300 years, the United States has moved from a country that believed in Divinity to one that insisted on becoming secular in all public affairs.

    My opinion, after living through the nightmare of a corporate world as an entry level worker and a Vice President, find something you love and enjoy doing. If you love what you do, the trivial matters of what you “want” from a workplace become immaterial.

    Check out my Facebook page for The Top 5 Regrets of those who are terminal (I posted a few weeks ago from a friend). One of them…I wish I wouldn’t have worked so hard.

    And remember, at the end of the day, it’s only you in the mirror…that’s who really counts!

    • Joe Sharkey

      Not necessarily a tricky post, but definitely not something I expect to be commonplace. However, my plan is surrounding myself with good people, ones I can trust, and those who challenge me. It’s truly amazing to see the evolution of our country, but I still have hope in us as a nation.

      “It is always darkest before the dawn”
      -Batman:The Dark Knight [there is even a double entendre in the title of the movie]

  • Papa Bear

    I pulled this news clip from recent “discussions” over insider trading in Congress. They have benefitted huge from sharing all kinds of insider trading on legislation affecting companies and who “knows” what’s happening on the inside. This is what Martha Stewart went to prison for…

    If we are to be honest, everyone must play by the same set of rules. Unfortunately, now and in the past, Congress doesn’t have to…By the same measure, neither do banks or the Federal Reserve. Not one bank executive has done any jail or prison time for funding bad assets and mortgages (when they knew, up front, the assets were bad or investors a high risk).

    At a Dec. 6 House hearing, SEC enforcement chief Robert Khuzami opined that any new rules for Congress should not apply to ordinary citizens. He worried that legislators might “narrow current law and thereby make it more difficult to bring future insider trading actions against individuals outside of Congress.”

    This don’t-rock-the-boat approach serves the interests of the SEC because it maximizes the commission’s power and discretion, but it’s not the best approach. The sensible thing to do would be to rationalize the rules by creating a clear definition of what constitutes insider trading, and then apply those rules to everyone on and outside Capitol Hill.

    If the law passes in its current form, insider trading by Congress will not become illegal. I predict such trading will increase because the rules of the game will be clearer. Most significantly, the rule proposed for Congress would not involve the same murky inquiry into whether a trader owed or breached a “fiduciary duty” to the source of the information that required that he refrain from trading.

    If enacted, the law of insider trading will remain one of many where one reality applies to Congress and an uncomfortable and insecure reality applies to everybody else. Just as Congress is protected from the vicissitudes of ObamaCare, Congress will remain safe from the vagaries of insider trading law. The rest of us will still be vulnerable.

Leave a Reply

